Post Grad

So I was watching MTV today with my girlfriend (we needed our fix of spoiled-rich-kid-gets-something-he/she-doesn’t-deserve-then-complains) and this commercial for the movie Post Grad came on. Post Grad is about a recent college graduate, played by that eclectic little twat from Gilmore Girls, who is shocked to find herself living at home and unemployed. The commercial itself wasn’t a trailer, but an interview with a REAL LIFE post grad. These are her exact words:

“So like, umm, I graduated from college, and interviewed with a publishing company, and they were like YOURE SO SMART YOU GRADUATED FROM COLLEGE, and I was like OMG I KNOW, COLLEGE!!! And then like, a week or two passed, and I got a letter and it was like omg no you didn’t get the job, and I was like holy shit. And as a consolation they gave me a box of books. Like What was I supposed to do with that?”

Or at least that’s what I heard . And what the hell are you doing, trying to get into publishing, if you don’t know what to do with a box of books?

So the question is, who is responsible for the surplus of unemployed english majors?  wow, that sounded very op-ed.

3 responses to “Post Grad

  1. tis a shame, so many of these kids exist in this world…sighs!

  2. Wow. This is me. English major hoping to work in publishing who can’t get a job.

    Thank God I don’t live with my parents.

    I really want to see this movie.

  3. I searched for this topic because I wrote a similar article about how this movie looks like a mockery of real people… like me.

    I love your tags for the post. Haha.

    Anyways, just wanted to say hello since I’m a hopeless writer who likes to make contact with other aspiring writers as well.

    Keep it up. I love your dry wit and sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

